Skip to main content
Biomedicine in museums

More history and philosophy of science journal editors join the protest against European Science Foundation's journal rating policy

By October 7, 2008No Comments

In July we reported how ten editors of some of the leading international journals for history and philosophy of science and social studies of science had issued a joint declaration against the current attempts, initiated by the European Science Foundation, to establish a European rating system for humanities journals (ERIH).

Now, two and a half months later, almost all editors of international journals in this area of the humanities have joined the declaration:

  • Hanne Andersen (Centaurus)
  • Roger Ariew & Moti Feingold (Perspectives on Science)
  • A. K. Bag (Indian Journal of History of Science)
  • June Barrow-Green & Benno van Dalen (Historia mathematica)
  • Keith Benson (History and Philosophy of the Life Sciences)
  • Marco Beretta (Nuncius)
  • Michel Blay (Revue d’Histoire des Sciences)
  • Cornelius Borck (Berichte zur Wissenschaftsgeschichte)
  • Geof Bowker and Susan Leigh Star (Science, Technology and Human Values)
  • Massimo Bucciantini & Michele Camerota (Galilaeana: Journal of Galilean Studies)
  • Jed Buchwald and Jeremy Gray (Archive for History of Exacft Sciences)
  • Vincenzo Cappelletti & Guido Cimino (Physis)
  • Roger Cline (International Journal for the History of Engineering & Technology)
  • Stephen Clucas & Stephen Gaukroger (Intellectual History Review)
  • Hal Cook & Anne Hardy (Medical History)
  • Leo Corry, Alexandre Matraux & Jörgen Renn (Science in Context)
  • D.Diecks & J.Uffink (Studies in History and Philosophy of Modern Physics)
  • Brian Dolan & Bill Luckin (Social History of Medicine)
  • Hilmar Duerbeck & Wayne Orchiston (Journal of Astronomical History & Heritage)
  • Moritz Epple, Mikael Hård, Hans-Jörg Rheinberger & Volker Roelcke (NTM: Zeitschrift für Geschichte der Wissenschaften, Technik und Medizin)
  • Steven French (Metascience)
  • Willem Hackmann (Bulletin of the Scientific Instrument Society)
  • Bosse Holmqvist (Lychnos)
  • Paul Farber (Journal of the History of Biology)
  • Mary Fissell & Randall Packard (Bulletin of the History of Medicine)
  • Robert Fox (Notes & Records of the Royal Society)
  • Jim Good (History of the Human Sciences)
  • Michael Hoskin (Journal for the History of Astronomy)
  • Ian Inkster (History of Technology)
  • Marina Frasca Spada (Studies in History and Philosophy of Science)
  • Nick Jardine (Studies in History and Philosophy of Biological and Biomedical Sciences)
  • Trevor Levere (Annals of Science)
  • Bernard Lightman (Isis)
  • Christoph Lathy (Early Science and Medicine)
  • Michael Lynch (Social Studies of Science)
  • Stephen McCluskey & Clive Ruggles (Archaeostronomy: the Journal of Astronomy in Culture)
  • Peter Morris (Ambix)
  • E. Charles Nelson (Archives of Natural History)
  • Ian Nicholson (Journal of the History of the Behavioural Sciences)
  • Iwan Rhys Morus (History of Science)
  • John Rigden & Roger H Stuewer (Physics in Perspective)
  • Simon Schaffer (British Journal for the History of Science)
  • Paul Unschuld (Sudhoffs Archiv)
  • Peter Weingart (Minerva)
  • Stefan Zamecki (Kwartalnik Historii Nauki i Techniki)

In other words, almost all journal editors in one of the central and established fields of the humanities clearly distance themselves from the ongoing European bureaucratic scientometric project.

Thomas Söderqvist

Author Thomas Söderqvist

More posts by Thomas Söderqvist